Apparently I fell victim to some PETA propaganda or something back in the day in my eagerness to be a good vegetarian. All this time, I truly believed that the taurine in Red Bull was derived from an animal source (specifically, from some kind of enzyme or hormone found in bull parts). My cousin Tim, who works for Red Bull, corrected me in my last post. I confirmed his assertions by visiting the official Red Bull Web site and, sure enough, Tim’s right! Here’s what Red Bull has to say on the matter:
IS TAURINE MADE FROM BULLS’ TESTICLES? IS TAURINE A DERIVATIVE OF BULLS’ TESTICLES OR SEMEN?
The taurine in Red Bull® Energy Drink is a purely synthetic substance produced by pharmaceutical companies and is not derived from animals or animal materials. All ingredients for Red Bull® Energy Drink are synthetically produced by pharmaceutical companies. This guarantees the highest quality.
“All ingredients for Red Bull® Energy Drink are synthetically produced by pharmaceutical companies.” Well, I’m sure we can all rest a little easier now!
*Secretly thinks she’d rather take her chances with the bull stuff*
i don’t trust you, your friend, or the Internet, and i will continue to douse with red paint anyone i see drinking red bull.
Great. Next time I want to drink a fully synthetic liquid I think I’ll open a can of motor oil. Ugh.
Thanks for clearing up the Red Bull controversy…
Now I know for sure–I’ll just PASS and remain lethargic!
Chinese have been using extracts from bull parts for centuries……